Friday, December 31, 2010

New Years

This year has been a blur of change- changing majors, schools, houses, and states.
I became a History/Social studies double major in hopes of being a high school teacher, I moved from Bozeman back to Washington. I'm now attending Washington State University instead of Montana State University.
A successful year I'd say, but not necessarily my best year, but not a horrible year either.
I had a great semester pulling multiple A's.
Tonight, I'm going to be at a friends on New Years instead of my own home which is kind of exciting and a first since elementary school.

3 days from now I'll finally be 21 and I'm very excited.

Sorry this is so short- I have to get ready. Hope to write more tomorrow!

Monday, December 27, 2010

Take that! Muahaha

Dear Video Gamers,
Wearing Halo or Call of Duty shirts and arguing about which game is better can easily be compared to Team Edward or Team Jacob arguments.

Saturday, December 25, 2010

Christmas Pictures

Karen the Cat camps out under the tree

I believe in Angels

Lars and his new bow 

Mom and Me!

Christmas Candle

Our Christmas fire

Mom and Macy

Christmas Report

This year I got exactly what I asked for and I couldn't be happier with it!
I got the camera I previously blogged about and accessories to go with it, the only thing I'll need to pick up on my own are rechargeable batteries, which isn't a big deal.
I love my camera -You have been warned- this blog and my photo blog are going to be flooded with lots of pictures.
This year I also got a beautiful blanket from my brother, and an incredible pair of snow shoes! I'm so excited to take them out!
Mom filled my stocking with socks (I love socks!) and a new Wii game- Epic Mickey!
Lars got some very cool things, and so did mom. I think they both enjoyed my gifts, hand painted wine glasses and a ipod docking station.
I'm so excited to take my camera out and practice with it! Maybe I can convince someone to go to the Zoo with me in the next week or so?!

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Seattle

Okay, things have finally calmed down long enough for me to sit down and write for a few minutes...

I have made it back to the Seattle metropolitan area for the few weeks of the Christmas season. The drive over was okay, snow from Pullman to Othello, and a little ice thrown in. After Othello the drive was a breeze and we were home by 2:30pm. We left at 8:30am... I think we made good time. I keep saying "we"... David and I drove back together (I drove, he kept me entertained).

First night back I went to an Airlift party with mom and had a blast- I was so tired by the time we got home at midnight. It was a long day, up at 6am and climbed into bed a little after midnight.

The girls (gliders) have settled into my parent's place with little stress and got some new toys today which they seem to be enjoying!

Today, I had a delicious cup of coffee with my friend Megan. We talked for so long we walked next door to the teriyaki place and had lunch! It was wonderful to see her and get to talk to her. We covered every topic imaginable it seemed like!

I'm in the process of trying to sell my truck (Craiglist Ad for My Truck) so I can take a new-to-me-car back to Pullman. Cross your fingers for me! Or feel free to share the ad with anyone you think might be interested!

I've got to go to bed... early doctors appointment for my throat! Good night!

Friday, December 17, 2010

A Suggie Christmas Wish

The girls and I would love this for christmas/birthday:
 Sansbug Tent
Just thought I'd let you all know :D

Another photo

Stupid dress bunched up around my middle because well it didn't fit. Otherwise not a horrible photo.

Photo by Michael Harris

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Why I shouldn't Model

Me with my friend Arielle who has a few years of modeling under her belt.
My dress didn't fit so of course the photos didn't turn out that great.
She looks great- I look like a drag queen...


photos are by Michael Harris

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Attempts at Modeling

I got the chance to go model for a local consignment shop on Tuesday.
It was mostly vintage wedding dresses but also some prom dresses.
Here are the photos that I have gotten back so far! The photo in the long white dress is by far my favorite so far!
All photos are by Michael Harris




Monday, December 13, 2010

Sad News

I'm sad to announce that my sugar glider, Snips, lost her joey. 
♥ Glide High Little Joey ♥

Sunday, December 12, 2010

Minor Christmas Wish

If by some chance someone wanted to get me something for under $10 for Christmas they could have This shipped to the Pullman or Lynnwood Walmart in my name.... 


My sugar gliders would greatly appreciate it, as it would give them the opportunity to hunt crickets and other little creatures without mommy (me) having to worry about them escaping. ♥


The idea for this hamper in closure came from here, but this person eventually had issues with her own modifications. I figure the only modifications I'll have to make is a few pieces of wood or PVC to keep the hamper from collapsing when they climb up it- nice and easy!

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Christmas Party- Pullman Style

Last night one of my roommates and I had a small Christmas party with friends. It ended up being a blast! We had yummy food and drinks- Sangria, butter beer, and whatever anyone else brought. There was a lot of laughing and I have never had so much fun in college. Well at least here in Pullman. I will definitely be doing something like this again next semester! 
Here are some pictures from the party for you to enjoy!

My Dala Horse cake! I cooked and decorated it! It's a chocolate cake, with chocolate frosting- yum!

My roommate, Lindsay, and I, the hostess' of the party! Oh and our awesome little Christmas tree.

People chilling on the couch. Notice the awesome variance of expressions.

Pulled out the old school xbox to enjoy a few rounds of original Halo- Rocking it old school.

My roommate, Lindsay, and her sister playing with their white elephant gift. Shooting plastic basketballs into a tiny hoop. Entertaining enough for us to watch for about 30 minutes.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Dear Grandma

Dear Grandma,

Its been a few months since you passed away but I still find myself going to call you on my way home from classes every Friday... like I did last semester. I haven't even deleted your number from my phone- I can't bring myself to do it.

Everything has gone back to normal. Well, as normal as it gets when someone is missing from your life.

I try to call Grandpa when I can in the evenings. I get so busy with studying and my suddenly existent social life that sometimes I forget and the time zones screw me up. When I forget I beat myself up. I feel bad. I should be there for him more. Our phone conversations are kind of awkward but still pleasant.

Grandpa misses you so much... he gets really lonely in the evening. I miss you too. It sounds like Wendi and his family are helping him out. I wish I lived closer to him so I could help him out too.

I know we didn't agree on a lot of things but I still love you. You were more of an influence in my life than I ever realized. I'm pursuing my degree in History, because of you and Dad. You instilled that love and respect of the past in me at such a young age. I'm going to be a history teacher... hopefully spread that love and respect further and into more kids.

I'm engaged, Grandma! I know you didn't really like David but in all fairness you didn't really know him. He makes me so happy and I know that would make you happy too. He takes care of me and does everything to make me happy. David's going to take good care of me, Grandma. I just wish you had gotten to know him better. He really loved your stories and thought you had great spunk. I wish you had given him a chance.

I miss you so much, Grandma. I'm glad I have all those amazing memories with you- on the lake, meeting the other Kirsten, Deception Pass, spending summers at the cabin.

I love you Grandma.

Love,

Kirsten

Monday, December 6, 2010

Christmas Card

This year's Christmas card!
Unfortunately the budget doesn't allow for me to send very many out...
I only printed 3 to send to my Grandpa, Farfar, and a friend in Australia.
So here's the virtual card-
From David and I
Merry Christmas!

The Girls- Finally Together

Snips (brown) and Winry (grey) Together!!!
I introduced them in neutral ground, the bathtub, and then allowed them to play in my sweatshirt together!
I'm so happy they're together!
Only one cage to clean now!

Monday, November 29, 2010

Catching up!

I haven't gotten the chance to blog in a while so here I go!


First let me say HAPPY THANKSGIVING (I know I'm late but its the thought that counts right?!)

Last Saturday, David and I drove out to Seattle to spend to Thanksgiving with our families. The drive home, which takes about 5 hours, was quite the adventure! I picked up a rescue sugar glider which took us about an hour of our way to get home. Snips is now happy and safe and with someone (me) who loves her, but more on that in a later. We got over the pass fine and laughed at the people who were freaking out because there was snow on the sides of the road. There was nothing on the road! Ugh people! Haha! You'd think the snow was going to jump out and attack them or something! Snoqualmie is a pretty easy pass in my opinion- this opinion formed after driving over Fourth of July, Homestake, Lookout, and Bozeman Passes all of which are steep and only a lane or two wide. I'll give it to people that Snoqualmie can get some pretty nasty weather (like all passes) but Washington DOT is pretty good about keeping it clear!

I spent the week home with my family and loved it so much! Seattle got about 6 inches of snow which of course through the Pacific North-westerners into a panic! Snow isn't their forte in any way shape or form. Papa's hour bus ride from work turned into a 4 hour walk from Seattle to Lake City and a 45 minutes bus ride! Craziness! Spent a lot of time with my Mom and got to have some good mother-daughter time. It was really nice. Lars and I spent some time together but by the end of the week he was ready to be rid of me which is okay, I guess. This year was the first year in almost 10 years that we've had Papa home and not at work. It was nice! It was small, nothing exciting, but I really enjoyed it. We went to my Aunt's house after dinner for some delicious desserts! I'm still enjoying some of the cookies that Lynda made!

David and I drove back on Saturday. Well, I drove back on Saturday because David is uncomfortable driving in the snow. There was quite a bit of snow coming back. The Palouse was covered in probably a foot of snow! It was gorgeous! The only issue I had was the people driving, who shouldn't have been! I understand that snow is scary but as long as you're careful and respect the danger you're generally okay! I dunno- maybe I'm a little ballsy. I'm glad we didn't drive back on Sunday- there was a dense fog warning in effect and well damn. Dense fog wasn't joke! The Palouse was covered in a wall of fog, it was kind of eerie.  

I have a new sugar glider! Her name is Snips. She's a sweetheart but still a little skittish. I rescued her from a woman who had no idea what she was doing. Poor Snips. She's fat and a little off colored due to a bad diet. Although her color has changed drastically since I put her on a good diet! She has a good life now! She may be pregnant, we'll know in a week or so! I hope she is! I'd love to have a joey.

My apartment is all decked out in Christmas decorations! The snow is making it even more merry! We have a little tree and stockings hanging on the wall. I put a garland on the banister and lights in the window. It makes me so happy every time I walk into the house! I'll put up some pictures when I get the chance to take some! 

The snow here is gorgeous and we're expecting even more in the next few days! It makes getting to class a little tricky but in my opinion its completely worth it!

I'll end this blog on an extremely positive note- I don't have to take my Christian History Final! I have a solid A in the class so my professor has exempt me (and a few other students) from the finals as not to jeopardize our A's. I also got a 100% on a paper!!! I've never gotten a 100% on a paper! EVER! I'm very excited!!! The paper was on Nazi Propaganda... go figure. I love being a history major and I can't wait to teach it! I have some very cool ideas for lessons.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Fame and Fortune?

Remember that photo I posted a few days ago? Well I submitted it to Daily Squee and it made the front page! This is really exciting for me!!!
I had to share, I'm just so excited!

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Saturday morning

Can't come fast enough!!!
On Saturday David and I will be driving back to Seattle to spend a little less than a week.
Yay for Thanksgiving!
I'm very excited, both for the drive (I love driving!) and for the being home aspect!
I miss my Mom and Papa very much and can't wait to see my little brother.
I'm also excited to see Macy and Mac and the kitties.
Can't wait for yummy Thanksgiving dinner either! Mmm! My mouth is watering thinking about it!
I can't wait to be back on the west side for a few days!

Sunday, November 14, 2010

Too cute not to share

This photo is just too cute and I had to share it!
Winry is fully grown now and has her cage is all decked out for Christmas already! Tonight she took a meal worm from me and enjoyed it while sitting on her new hammock.
She's spoiled to the end of the world! I love my babygirl!

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Veterans day- a reflection

As much as I would like today to be merely a day where I am not forced to go sit through two classes and dream of the day I will someday be done being the student and become the teacher I would also like to take a moment to thank some very important people.
Those people are veterans.
The men and women who sacrifice everything for a something they truly believe in- our country.
I know everyone has seen this picture and honestly a lot of people find it a little cliche. But I don't- the beauty, the pain, the courage... It nearly brings me to tears when I see it because of the incredible story that follows it.
Our politicians may be a little crooked, and the public sphere spinning a little wonky, but the core of America, freedom and liberty ring true because of our veterans.
There are quite a few veterans in my life.
A friend from high school, who has been to Iraq and soon to be in Afghanistan
My uncle and my cousins who have and are serving in the Navy.
My mom's amazing coworkers who have served in various branches.
And my amazing grandfather who was a reserve officer at Fort Ripley.
I don't think there is an American out there who doesn't know a veteran, and doesn't feel some debt of gratitude to them none the less.
We don't say thank you enough. Not nearly enough. Not only do the veterans deserve our thanks, but so do their families.
So, from the deepest parts of my heart
To every veteran who has served our country
To every spouse who has had to say goodbye
To every parent that has watched their child become a soldier
To every child that has spent their childhood with a parent overseas
Thank you

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Rainy Sunday

What an amazing sunset we're having tonight, and to make it even better it comes at the end of an awesome day.
Today started out rainy and the clouds didn't really let up until about sunset-  just enough to give us an incredible sunset!
Didn't get up until noonish but with the time change over (Hope everyone remembered!) it was only 11am!
I got up and made David and I a breakfast of pancakes- very yummy! And cleaned up the living room a little bit.
I got my paper done early in the day so I wouldn't  have to stress about it! YAY!
Tonight, David and I are going to a friend's house to watch the Sounders FC game VS Galaxy FC (leg 2!) and eat a delicious dinner. I'm making a salad to go with it because well lets face it, unless you force the issue college boys tend to forget about the very important veggies!
Coug's lost another football game, no surprise there.
Hopefully this week wont be too stressful, no class Thursday so thats cool!

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Reflection of this Semester So Far

This semester has been amazing. Its had its ups and downs but overall I'm loving WSU, and I'm loving the people here.
I will admit that I miss my Montana friends, and well hell I miss Montana too- the snow, the valley, the crazy people. And well I do have a bit of a hankering for Montana... I understand what my papa meant for all those years now.
Pullman is where its at for me though.
I'm closer to home which makes breaks not quite so stressful but also gives me a feeling of reassurance.
The major I've put my heart into is perfect for me, and the profs for the most part are excellent!
Socially this semester has been excellent- I have good friends and for the most part good roommates. I haven't made too many "new" friends but I figure that it will come with time and patience and I'm okay with that.
Tonight, I'm having a lovely quiet night. I enjoyed coke floats with David earlier and am now just relaxing. No stress- just enjoying the fact that I don't have to get up early tomorrow!!!
I realize that I only really blog when I'm feeling an extreme emotion, and I apologizes for that. I'm going to try and blog more often (possibly daily or bi-daily) in attempt to give a more rounded account of my life in Pullman.
Yes I get stressed, yes I get extremely excited, and yes I have days where its pretty neutral. I don't want to bore anyone with my blog but I would rather have a well rounded blog than one of extremes.

I'm going to be back in the Seattle area for a week starting November 20th (hopefully, maybe the 21st).

I think I might go to bed now so
Good Night All! Sweet dreams!

Friday, November 5, 2010

5th of November at WSU



The projectors in 2 buildings at WSU were hijacked and this video was shown at 10 past the hour every hour starting at 9 going until 1. When I say hijacked I mean it, professors had no control over their projectors for the 4 minutes of the video.
Its brilliant and has started an awesome discussion among students!
Usually I would find this obnoxious and a waste of my time but the stir it has created was worth the 4 minutes of missed class. And watching the professor get flustered (a prof I'm not particularly fond of) made it even better!
Happy Guy Fawkes Day!

Remember remember the fifth of November
Gunpowder, treason and plot.
I see no reason why gunpowder, treason
Should ever be forgot...

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Stress

I need to find a way to deal with stress better.
Currently I can't keep food down and can't sleep because I am so stressed out. My throat burns from the vomiting. Everything makes me want to cry or scream.

Here's a break down of my stress:
Grades- which are fine but I want to be better, I've had a few stumbles with midterms.
Money- who doesn't stress about this?
Friends- 2 of my friends are suddenly dropping out to join the Navy... nothing I know of lead up to this, it was VERY sudden
Weight- I've gotten better and have been eating better but am being ridiculous and wanting faster results than possible

Possible solutions-
Turning off the computer for a few hours everyday- I seem to be more stressed after using the computer
Start projects as soon as they're assigned- procrastination is never good for stress
Physical activity- getting to the gym a few days a week
Letting some goals slide to a reasonable point- obviously getting a job right now isn't going to be as easy as I wish and I'm not going to drop 10lbs in a week.

Suggestions are needed if you have something to add!
Thanks.

Monday, November 1, 2010

Halloween

Halloween...
(generalizations)
Then- time to dress up, eat candy, and maybe watch a scary move
Now- time to dress up as slutty as possible (for women), drink way too much, watch scary movies as an excuse to get as close as possible to the cute guy/girl you're hoping to sleep with.

For me, this Halloween involved watching a scary movie, Walking Dead on AMC, and then going to take care of my very drunk friend with David. Awesome? Sure why not. Got my adrenaline going and gives me a good story! 

I did dress up too! Kinda... here's my costume!
I was a vampire's victim! Sorry its fuzzy, but the important part are the bite marks! Awesome much? I think so!

Oh! Back to my drunk friend... who we'll call R, we had to get some bread in him to help him with the large quantities of alcohol he had consumed. Well being drunk he was in the shower, fully clothed, with the water running. David had to convince him to eat the bread... David has a gift for dealing with the inebriated! He offered R some "soggy bread from France" and of course being drunk R jumped all over something from France!!! It was hilarious! Thankfully R was fine and woke up this morning with what he claims was only a minor head ache. 

Tell me about your Halloween in the comment section below! Anything funny/awesome/scary happen to you?


Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Can't sleep

Can't sleep tonight. Been laying here for a little over an hour, I yawn every once in a while but other than that I can't even keep my eyes closed for longer than a minute.
This sucks.
I've got to get up in 7 hours... which I know doesn't sound that bad, but I haven't slept all the way through the night in so long. Don't ask me why, I'm just always up and down during the night.
Urgh.
I really want to sleep.... I figured writing would help me get my stress out so I could sleep... Lets see if it helps!

I've found my niche in school and I'm happy to be on the right path now, but I have to tell you I'm ready to be done with school. This should be my junior year... instead I'll be a sophomore next semester. I'm only 20 (soon to be 21) but my god I'm ready to be out of school and on with my life, teaching and getting married ect. I want to be financially independent but god forbid I should get a call back. I'm not sure why I'm so unmarketable but I am apparently. I want to be independent from my parents (other than a little help with school) and I want to be able to say "I'm an adult". But I can't because I can't get a job and I can't be financially independent. SO FRUSTRATING.
Because I'm not independent I can't do a lot of things I would like to.
One of my girlfriends -younger than me- is getting married in August to a guy she's known since last Christmas... David and I are celebrating our 5 year anniversary in February! I know I'm young and a lot of you think I'm ridiculous but I would honestly love to get married in the next few years. I know thats impossible as I will only be out of school in 3 years and after that I'm going to have to work for a while just to afford the wedding I'd like (not asking for anything big, but I'd like it to be elegant and well put together).
I always dreamed of being a young mom- as in first baby by 27- but it doesn't look like that will happen either which is a little frustrating. Having decided on teaching it doesn't look like I'll be having kids until my mid-30's if ever, because I wont be able to afford them until then! A lot of dreams I had are dissipating because of my career choice... travel, housing, ect. But honestly I'm okay with it, because I know I'll be happy as a teacher.

Thats everything on my mind. I'm going to try and sleep now... doubt it will work but damnit I'm going to try.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Graduation

I have an "official" estimated date of graduation!
Winter of 2013!!!!
As of now I will be graduating with a double major of History and Social Studies with teaching endorsements in both.
I'm very excited! I was afraid it was going to take longer...

Monday, October 25, 2010

Make A College Student Wish Come True!!!!

Anyone got a reasonably in shape bean bag they need to get out of their house?
This girl right here will take it off your hands around Christmas time! At no cost to you!
Willing to pay a small re-homing fee to give your bean bag chair a second chance at life!
Let me know!

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Weekly funny!

Twilight Almost Cost Me My Wife and My Life
This article takes about 5 or 10 minutes to read and completely worth it!
 I was in tears laughing, so funny!

Sunday at the Ballet

The Eugene Ballet made a stop in Pullman this weekend.
I got to enjoy their rendition of Cinderella for free as a student here at WSU.
It was beautiful and very well done! I loved every moment of it!
I got to enjoy the ballet with some lovely ladies here at WSU!
Sarah, Lindsay, and Laurel all joined me for this oasis of culture in farm country.
I'd just like to put out that I'm 6 foot so yes, I'm proportionally huge compared to these lovely ladies!

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

No Dress Up for Me

I will not be dressing up. Which is kind of sad, first Halloween in memory I haven't.
Don't tell me I'm too old to dress up for Halloween...
NO ONE IS EVERY TOO OLD FOR HALLOWEEN!
I'd dress up but there'd be no where to go AND the lack of dollar bills in my wallet puts a damper on that.
If I can at least hang out with friends than it will all be okay.
On a positive note I get to carve a pumpkin this year!! YAY!!!!

Tumblr for Photos

Photo blog:

My Life in Pictures

Tumblr is a lot easier to post photos on, so my day to day photography will be posted.
This link along with my other Tumblr are posted under "My Other Blogs" on the left side bar.
Mind you my photography tends to be kind of mediocre due to my camera but I love it anyways!

Hmmm

Things that make me go "Hmmm"

  • The show "Sister Wives" on TLC- honestly, I can deal with polygamy. If it works for you, great! It is the shows logo that kind of makes me angry. Its the male sign with four female signs hanging off the bottom of it. I'm probably looking too deep into it, BUT I interpret it as these four women are not only bound to this man but also without him they wouldn't succeed. (I told you I was looking too deep).
  • Sororities- with missions to better women and give them a family of support they sure can be awful to each other! Hazing, ostracizing, just being bitchy. Its horrible to watch! Shouldn't you ladies be helping each other? Not forcing eating disorders and horrible self image?!
  • Tuition- the stadium lights at WSU are ALWAYS on. I kid you not. If we turned them off unless we were using them (i.e. football games and stadium usage) I bet you tuition would stop going up because we could use that money to pay our professors and overhead cost of the University. I dunno just a thought- I hate paying for shit I'm not using!
  • Jeggings- Yes, jeggings... You know, legging jeans? They're quite popular right now! They look great with long sweaters and boots. Not so great with tennies and a t-shirt. If you're wearing leggings (or jeggings in this case) the top you are wearing should be long enough to cover your butt, because those jeggings don't hide anything! 
Those are the things that make me go "hmmmm" right now. What makes you go "hmmm"? Let me know in the comments!

Oh! And I am currently debating on whether or not to start a photography tumblr...
just so I have somewhere to easily upload my attempts at photographic art (usually a major fail).
I'll update if I decide to do so!

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Making a bad day better!

My roommate, Kelsey, made me cookies to make up for the cookies her and her dad ate this weekend. They're delicious!

David took me out to a cheap dinner, but dinner none the less. It was nice not to have to stress about dinner.

Now I'm watching "How to Train Your Dragon" and cuddling into bed!

My phone arrives tomorrow!!!!

Monday, October 18, 2010

Horrible day

Today has been a horrible day.

Not just a bad day... A horrible day.

I can't adjust my attitude to a point of making things better, no I just want to be angry.

Slept like crap last night, no apparent reason. Just did. Nightmares mostly. It sucked, but I woke up with the attitude of "It was just a dream, today is going to be good"... HAHAHA!

This weekend I gave up my room so that my roommates could both have family stay, which was fine, I don't have a problem with that! But I made cookies and came home to them all eaten. Yes, I'm mad. I told my roommates they could have one each. If the excuse that their families ate them comes up it will only make me more angry. 4 words "Sorry they're my roommates" Should be no problem right? HA! Apparently not. I was going to eat those cookies as my one a day sweet. Well so much for that!

My general education professor just makes me angry in general. He's irritating and I have learned nothing from him. The lack of respect he shows for certain cultures annoys me to no end AND he laughs at the dumbest things that don't even make sense. His uber passive aggressive style is also irritating to no end...

I still have no cell phone (hopefully here tomorrow!) and it just stresses me out not to have it. I can honestly say I am full of awe and respect for people who had social lives, or got anywhere on time before cell phones. Honestly, I'm not sure how it occurred.  Mind you the cultural aspect of land lines and watches were once a major thing, not so much now. My apartment doesn't even have a land line...

Oh here's a letter for me to explain the last aspect of my horrible day:

The guy sitting beside me in classical history-
Your clicking pen, tapping foot, and all around inability to sit still during the lecture makes me want to do commit violent and illegal acts towards you. I'm already having a horrible day and you aren't making it better. I realize you are an exchange student, and that american culture may be new to you, but honestly I believe respect for the people around you should be universal!
Sincerely- the girl who broke a mechanical pencil because you're infuriating!

I will finish this blog on a positive note, because I really don't like being a negative person.

I received a solid B on my Modern Euro History Midterm! I got 100% on the essay portion! History is my thing!

A care package from my parents arrived with dried apples (YUM!) and some things I've wanted from home. Mom sent me a beautiful bracelet from her trip to Florida and I can't wait to wear it!

I may have a job for the holidays at the local Hallmark, I'm one of three "finalists" for the job! Please cross your fingers, pray, chant, whatever you do best, for me!

It's finally getting cold here! 19*F last night! Yay! I love the cold! I'm hoping to go to a pumpkin patch this weekend too! The fall weather will be wonderful for the pumpkin patch!

PS Please send quarters! Laundry costs about $2.25-3.00 for a full wash and dry of a load. Don't know what to send for Christmas? How about a $3.00 in quarters?! 
Kirsten Nelson
710 Se Chinook Dr
Apt J45
Pullman WA 99163

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Excellent weekend

I have had an excellent weekend!
Nothing too special to speak of, just relaxing.
David bought "How to Train Your Dragon" one of my all time favorites! (Anyone with Viking blood should watch it!!!!) and we enjoyed watching that together.
Saturday night David and I enjoyed a free movie at the Student Union- Despicable Me. Cute movie.
It's Dad's weekend and an accidental but unfortunate miscommunication occurred and both my roommates had family staying at the apartment. Usually if we have one extra person they can stay on the couch (which pulls out) but because we had 2 people staying with us. So I cleaned my room and gave up my bed! Which I was quite happy to do! I stayed with David and had this wonderfully relaxing weekend!
Today has been relaxing, went on a walk (at the mall, it has gotten quite cold in Pullman!) and worked on some personal things while David played his new video game- Dead Rising 2-
I am now watching 1776 the musical with David's roommate, Lizzie. Very amusing!

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Procrastination

Sometimes I hate my inability to get shit done early. Honestly!
I have a paper due tomorrow... haven't started it... its only 3 pages so its not a big deal.
I want to go to the gym but maybe I don't really want to go that bad (yes I really do need to go)
You'd think these hills and the 30+ minutes of uphill walking I do everyday would help me out a little... apparently not!
Right now I'm procrastinating and I hate myself for it, but apparently not enough to get shit done.
Ugh.
Apparently I'd rather write about it then actually do it.
Yes, I am that cool.

Monday, October 11, 2010

Human connection

Why can't people look past their political party, race, age, sexual preference, religion, or whatever to see?

Why are we so blinded by these things that don't necessarily define Who we are? 

We're human, there has to be some level on which we can all connect.

National Coming Out Day

Today is National Coming Out Day
Please support those in your lives coming out to the world with their true identity.
Everyone deserves to love and be loved.

Friday, October 8, 2010

Friday Night at WSU

It's homecoming weekend here at WSU and you'll never guess what I'm doing on a friday night...
besides writing this blog...
Absolutely nothing.
David and friends are playing halo.
I'm sitting on the couch alone.
Awesome?

In Memory of Jaimeson

March 14, 1990 - October 7, 2010
Greatly missed but never forgotten,
A great inspiration to so many people, and touched more lives than he can ever know.
We'll miss you greatly.

I've known Jaimeson since the 7th grade. We were never close but did share a laugh once in a rare while.
I clearly remember the beginning of his battle with testicular cancer in junior high.
In high school I worked with his step-dad in the theatre department.
I would have loved to know Jaimeson better, but those of you who did know him... you're so lucky, he was an amazing young man.

Jaimeson you are so loved and so very missed. In the 12 hours since your passing was posted on Facebook there has been a huge out pouring of sentiments to you and your loved ones.

Fly high Jaimeson.

Seattle Times Article about Jaimeson:
Former Bothell High Athlete Jaimeson Jones Dies
Former WSU, Bothell athlete Jaimeson Jones pursues dreams as he battles cancer

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Laugh of the week

Hahaha made me laugh, felt I should share it with all of you!
Makes me miss Macy a little, but oh what a laugh I enjoyed from this picture!

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

October is....

October is Breast Cancer Awareness month and Infant Loss Awareness Month
Breast Cancer Awareness

Infant Loss Awareness

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Happy 21st Ryan

Happy 21st buddy!
Tonight is going to be great!
Don't do anything stupid! :D

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Take home exams

Are the best, but we all know they're really just a load of B.S.
Its not a test of your knowledge if you have a week to gather the information and put it together...
I guess I shouldn't complain, its an easy A if you do everything they say.
I suppose I should start my take home exams... -sigh- neither of them are due until next week but this weekend is going to be busy (friends birthday) so I'm going do them now!!!

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

Quick Rant-Illness

Oh for the life of me I can't shake this horrible cold.
I literally sound like a man every time I open my mouth because of the raspy throat I've got going on.
Going to classes suck while sick because of the huge ass hills that WSU boasts about (Cougar calves are not worth my chest exploding during a cold)
Lots of vitamin C and rest have done little so far, two weeks of this shit... ready to be healthy again!

Monday, September 27, 2010

Photos from Grandma and Grandpa's Cabin

The cabin from the road

aw look at the mini bear!!!


Grandma loved birds

Steps down to the lake

Grandma's cow. I love that silly thing

Chair on the dock (my favorite picture)

The Dock

View of the islands from the dock

View of cabin from the lake