Monday, November 29, 2010

Catching up!

I haven't gotten the chance to blog in a while so here I go!


First let me say HAPPY THANKSGIVING (I know I'm late but its the thought that counts right?!)

Last Saturday, David and I drove out to Seattle to spend to Thanksgiving with our families. The drive home, which takes about 5 hours, was quite the adventure! I picked up a rescue sugar glider which took us about an hour of our way to get home. Snips is now happy and safe and with someone (me) who loves her, but more on that in a later. We got over the pass fine and laughed at the people who were freaking out because there was snow on the sides of the road. There was nothing on the road! Ugh people! Haha! You'd think the snow was going to jump out and attack them or something! Snoqualmie is a pretty easy pass in my opinion- this opinion formed after driving over Fourth of July, Homestake, Lookout, and Bozeman Passes all of which are steep and only a lane or two wide. I'll give it to people that Snoqualmie can get some pretty nasty weather (like all passes) but Washington DOT is pretty good about keeping it clear!

I spent the week home with my family and loved it so much! Seattle got about 6 inches of snow which of course through the Pacific North-westerners into a panic! Snow isn't their forte in any way shape or form. Papa's hour bus ride from work turned into a 4 hour walk from Seattle to Lake City and a 45 minutes bus ride! Craziness! Spent a lot of time with my Mom and got to have some good mother-daughter time. It was really nice. Lars and I spent some time together but by the end of the week he was ready to be rid of me which is okay, I guess. This year was the first year in almost 10 years that we've had Papa home and not at work. It was nice! It was small, nothing exciting, but I really enjoyed it. We went to my Aunt's house after dinner for some delicious desserts! I'm still enjoying some of the cookies that Lynda made!

David and I drove back on Saturday. Well, I drove back on Saturday because David is uncomfortable driving in the snow. There was quite a bit of snow coming back. The Palouse was covered in probably a foot of snow! It was gorgeous! The only issue I had was the people driving, who shouldn't have been! I understand that snow is scary but as long as you're careful and respect the danger you're generally okay! I dunno- maybe I'm a little ballsy. I'm glad we didn't drive back on Sunday- there was a dense fog warning in effect and well damn. Dense fog wasn't joke! The Palouse was covered in a wall of fog, it was kind of eerie.  

I have a new sugar glider! Her name is Snips. She's a sweetheart but still a little skittish. I rescued her from a woman who had no idea what she was doing. Poor Snips. She's fat and a little off colored due to a bad diet. Although her color has changed drastically since I put her on a good diet! She has a good life now! She may be pregnant, we'll know in a week or so! I hope she is! I'd love to have a joey.

My apartment is all decked out in Christmas decorations! The snow is making it even more merry! We have a little tree and stockings hanging on the wall. I put a garland on the banister and lights in the window. It makes me so happy every time I walk into the house! I'll put up some pictures when I get the chance to take some! 

The snow here is gorgeous and we're expecting even more in the next few days! It makes getting to class a little tricky but in my opinion its completely worth it!

I'll end this blog on an extremely positive note- I don't have to take my Christian History Final! I have a solid A in the class so my professor has exempt me (and a few other students) from the finals as not to jeopardize our A's. I also got a 100% on a paper!!! I've never gotten a 100% on a paper! EVER! I'm very excited!!! The paper was on Nazi Propaganda... go figure. I love being a history major and I can't wait to teach it! I have some very cool ideas for lessons.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Fame and Fortune?

Remember that photo I posted a few days ago? Well I submitted it to Daily Squee and it made the front page! This is really exciting for me!!!
I had to share, I'm just so excited!

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Saturday morning

Can't come fast enough!!!
On Saturday David and I will be driving back to Seattle to spend a little less than a week.
Yay for Thanksgiving!
I'm very excited, both for the drive (I love driving!) and for the being home aspect!
I miss my Mom and Papa very much and can't wait to see my little brother.
I'm also excited to see Macy and Mac and the kitties.
Can't wait for yummy Thanksgiving dinner either! Mmm! My mouth is watering thinking about it!
I can't wait to be back on the west side for a few days!

Sunday, November 14, 2010

Too cute not to share

This photo is just too cute and I had to share it!
Winry is fully grown now and has her cage is all decked out for Christmas already! Tonight she took a meal worm from me and enjoyed it while sitting on her new hammock.
She's spoiled to the end of the world! I love my babygirl!

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Veterans day- a reflection

As much as I would like today to be merely a day where I am not forced to go sit through two classes and dream of the day I will someday be done being the student and become the teacher I would also like to take a moment to thank some very important people.
Those people are veterans.
The men and women who sacrifice everything for a something they truly believe in- our country.
I know everyone has seen this picture and honestly a lot of people find it a little cliche. But I don't- the beauty, the pain, the courage... It nearly brings me to tears when I see it because of the incredible story that follows it.
Our politicians may be a little crooked, and the public sphere spinning a little wonky, but the core of America, freedom and liberty ring true because of our veterans.
There are quite a few veterans in my life.
A friend from high school, who has been to Iraq and soon to be in Afghanistan
My uncle and my cousins who have and are serving in the Navy.
My mom's amazing coworkers who have served in various branches.
And my amazing grandfather who was a reserve officer at Fort Ripley.
I don't think there is an American out there who doesn't know a veteran, and doesn't feel some debt of gratitude to them none the less.
We don't say thank you enough. Not nearly enough. Not only do the veterans deserve our thanks, but so do their families.
So, from the deepest parts of my heart
To every veteran who has served our country
To every spouse who has had to say goodbye
To every parent that has watched their child become a soldier
To every child that has spent their childhood with a parent overseas
Thank you

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Rainy Sunday

What an amazing sunset we're having tonight, and to make it even better it comes at the end of an awesome day.
Today started out rainy and the clouds didn't really let up until about sunset-  just enough to give us an incredible sunset!
Didn't get up until noonish but with the time change over (Hope everyone remembered!) it was only 11am!
I got up and made David and I a breakfast of pancakes- very yummy! And cleaned up the living room a little bit.
I got my paper done early in the day so I wouldn't  have to stress about it! YAY!
Tonight, David and I are going to a friend's house to watch the Sounders FC game VS Galaxy FC (leg 2!) and eat a delicious dinner. I'm making a salad to go with it because well lets face it, unless you force the issue college boys tend to forget about the very important veggies!
Coug's lost another football game, no surprise there.
Hopefully this week wont be too stressful, no class Thursday so thats cool!

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Reflection of this Semester So Far

This semester has been amazing. Its had its ups and downs but overall I'm loving WSU, and I'm loving the people here.
I will admit that I miss my Montana friends, and well hell I miss Montana too- the snow, the valley, the crazy people. And well I do have a bit of a hankering for Montana... I understand what my papa meant for all those years now.
Pullman is where its at for me though.
I'm closer to home which makes breaks not quite so stressful but also gives me a feeling of reassurance.
The major I've put my heart into is perfect for me, and the profs for the most part are excellent!
Socially this semester has been excellent- I have good friends and for the most part good roommates. I haven't made too many "new" friends but I figure that it will come with time and patience and I'm okay with that.
Tonight, I'm having a lovely quiet night. I enjoyed coke floats with David earlier and am now just relaxing. No stress- just enjoying the fact that I don't have to get up early tomorrow!!!
I realize that I only really blog when I'm feeling an extreme emotion, and I apologizes for that. I'm going to try and blog more often (possibly daily or bi-daily) in attempt to give a more rounded account of my life in Pullman.
Yes I get stressed, yes I get extremely excited, and yes I have days where its pretty neutral. I don't want to bore anyone with my blog but I would rather have a well rounded blog than one of extremes.

I'm going to be back in the Seattle area for a week starting November 20th (hopefully, maybe the 21st).

I think I might go to bed now so
Good Night All! Sweet dreams!

Friday, November 5, 2010

5th of November at WSU



The projectors in 2 buildings at WSU were hijacked and this video was shown at 10 past the hour every hour starting at 9 going until 1. When I say hijacked I mean it, professors had no control over their projectors for the 4 minutes of the video.
Its brilliant and has started an awesome discussion among students!
Usually I would find this obnoxious and a waste of my time but the stir it has created was worth the 4 minutes of missed class. And watching the professor get flustered (a prof I'm not particularly fond of) made it even better!
Happy Guy Fawkes Day!

Remember remember the fifth of November
Gunpowder, treason and plot.
I see no reason why gunpowder, treason
Should ever be forgot...

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Stress

I need to find a way to deal with stress better.
Currently I can't keep food down and can't sleep because I am so stressed out. My throat burns from the vomiting. Everything makes me want to cry or scream.

Here's a break down of my stress:
Grades- which are fine but I want to be better, I've had a few stumbles with midterms.
Money- who doesn't stress about this?
Friends- 2 of my friends are suddenly dropping out to join the Navy... nothing I know of lead up to this, it was VERY sudden
Weight- I've gotten better and have been eating better but am being ridiculous and wanting faster results than possible

Possible solutions-
Turning off the computer for a few hours everyday- I seem to be more stressed after using the computer
Start projects as soon as they're assigned- procrastination is never good for stress
Physical activity- getting to the gym a few days a week
Letting some goals slide to a reasonable point- obviously getting a job right now isn't going to be as easy as I wish and I'm not going to drop 10lbs in a week.

Suggestions are needed if you have something to add!
Thanks.

Monday, November 1, 2010

Halloween

Halloween...
(generalizations)
Then- time to dress up, eat candy, and maybe watch a scary move
Now- time to dress up as slutty as possible (for women), drink way too much, watch scary movies as an excuse to get as close as possible to the cute guy/girl you're hoping to sleep with.

For me, this Halloween involved watching a scary movie, Walking Dead on AMC, and then going to take care of my very drunk friend with David. Awesome? Sure why not. Got my adrenaline going and gives me a good story! 

I did dress up too! Kinda... here's my costume!
I was a vampire's victim! Sorry its fuzzy, but the important part are the bite marks! Awesome much? I think so!

Oh! Back to my drunk friend... who we'll call R, we had to get some bread in him to help him with the large quantities of alcohol he had consumed. Well being drunk he was in the shower, fully clothed, with the water running. David had to convince him to eat the bread... David has a gift for dealing with the inebriated! He offered R some "soggy bread from France" and of course being drunk R jumped all over something from France!!! It was hilarious! Thankfully R was fine and woke up this morning with what he claims was only a minor head ache. 

Tell me about your Halloween in the comment section below! Anything funny/awesome/scary happen to you?