Friday, January 4, 2013

Personal Growth- an awesome feeling

Every once in a while you recognize that  you've grown as a person.
Sometimes its obvious- you grow a few inches taller, or your hair changes colors.
Sometimes it isn't- an opinion, a belief, a philosophy that has grown/changed.

A year ago I would have told anyone and everyone that I would never own, go near, or interact with a pitbull, or a pitbull mix.
Tonight, I sit on the couch with two pit mixes cuddled up after a long walk in the snow.

Grif is one of the single most kind, gentle, loving dog I've ever met. He revivals my childhood dog, Mac. Grif will let me do just about anything, has no qualms about being touched or thrown around, loves to be a couch potato, pretty smart (he has his moments of dumb), and adores children. He's been mauled by children he doesn't know in the park, has sat quietly waiting to be allowed to sniff our neighbors infant, and has guarded me against questionable characters.
He's also quite obviously part pit bull.


I've met many pits over the last year, and have yet to meet one I don't love.

Biases I had against pits are gone. That's not to say I'm not cautious- everyone should be cautious around any dog/animal they aren't familiar with!

I've educated myself, pit bulls have been inbred by bad people, and the reputation comes from media and the actions of bad people. The dogs themselves are victims a lot of the time. I mean in every breed, species, civilization there are bad apples, but as a whole are good. Pits are not an exception to this rule.

Did you know that there are about 300 million pits in the US at any one time? They are the most bred dogs in the US. For every 1 pit that gets adopted, 599 will be euthanized. Its really horribly sad. There are few other breeds that have the same bias against them, while still being bred at such a rate! Education is needed, I needed it and I like to think I'm a pretty smart person, which means a lot of people need it! Uneducated people are banning pits in cities across the country. They aren't even the "Most vicious" breeds out there... odds of being pit by a pit rival those of being bit by a labrador.

Things I have said before about pits were ignorant, hateful, and uneducated ramblings. And I apologize for them. I am redetermined to keep learning, living, and growing. If I was wrong about pits, what else am I wrong about? I can't wait to broaden my views and become a better human being. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! Feedback and comments very much appreciated!