Thursday, July 26, 2012

Being Screwed over by the State

Many of you know I was in a car accident with a University employee on July 12th.
I was not at fault (he hit me) and the police report reflects this.
Repairs to my car will be done Monday hopefully, but here comes the real kicker-
I am required to pay for it all out of pocket.
Over $2k in damages, paid out of pocket.

Let me tell you about my financial situation-
I live fairly comfortably for a college student, but I do live pretty much paycheck to paycheck.
Work 20-40 hours a week, minimum wage, tips (but nothing substantial).
I have enough to buy groceries, pay rent, feed my animals, and even have a little fun while putting about $50 into saving each month.
My savings account is sitting at a little under $200 right now.

So as the "victim" in this situation I am required to pay for all damages caused by the at fault driver.

And then the state will reimburse me in 3-6 months.

What the hell?

I'm going to stop right here and say this is more of a rant than anything else. I will take out a loan to cover the cost of my car and then charge the state for the interest. If I have to go to court over this I will figure out how to do that.

But seriously- how is it in anyway okay to force the "victim" of the accident to be burdened with so much financial stress? I just don't understand in any way.

The stupidity I am being met with, and the blatant disrespect by WSU's insurance department is disheartening.

I've contacted the student legal services, but I am unsure if they will be able to help me in anyway due to possible conflicts of interest.

Right now I'm just frustrated. And angry.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! Feedback and comments very much appreciated!