Thursday, July 26, 2012

Being Screwed over by the State

Many of you know I was in a car accident with a University employee on July 12th.
I was not at fault (he hit me) and the police report reflects this.
Repairs to my car will be done Monday hopefully, but here comes the real kicker-
I am required to pay for it all out of pocket.
Over $2k in damages, paid out of pocket.

Let me tell you about my financial situation-
I live fairly comfortably for a college student, but I do live pretty much paycheck to paycheck.
Work 20-40 hours a week, minimum wage, tips (but nothing substantial).
I have enough to buy groceries, pay rent, feed my animals, and even have a little fun while putting about $50 into saving each month.
My savings account is sitting at a little under $200 right now.

So as the "victim" in this situation I am required to pay for all damages caused by the at fault driver.

And then the state will reimburse me in 3-6 months.

What the hell?

I'm going to stop right here and say this is more of a rant than anything else. I will take out a loan to cover the cost of my car and then charge the state for the interest. If I have to go to court over this I will figure out how to do that.

But seriously- how is it in anyway okay to force the "victim" of the accident to be burdened with so much financial stress? I just don't understand in any way.

The stupidity I am being met with, and the blatant disrespect by WSU's insurance department is disheartening.

I've contacted the student legal services, but I am unsure if they will be able to help me in anyway due to possible conflicts of interest.

Right now I'm just frustrated. And angry.

Monday, July 16, 2012

Car accident, puppy, and Minneapolis

As many of you know I was in a car accident last Thursday with a WSU employee.
Although I suffered some soft tissue injuries in my neck, I am otherwise okay.
My car suffered a worse fate than I did- its no longer running and sitting in a repair shop waiting to be fixed.
$11 worth of damage...
Thankfully the University is picking up the tab since their employee was at fault.

The puppy is getting bigger, he's now 35lbs at 7 months old.
We don't think he will be much bigger since he hasn't grown in the last month other than getting a bit longer.
Grif has been such a great addition to our little family.

Planning for my Minneapolis trip has been a little touch and go but it will be fine and fun!
I fly in Aug 2 and out Aug 8.
I'll be spending most of my time in the city but will probably rent a car to head up to Mora for the day to see Grandpa Bob!